Mayor Pro Tem Dennis Haworth

Dennis Haworth

Mayor Pro Tem Dennis Haworth

Mayor Pro Tem

Email Dennis Haworth
Term Ends: December 2020

Early Life

Dennis Haworth was born in Porterville, California in 1973 to Elvin and Kay Haworth. The family lived in the Chowchilla area until 1976 before moving to southern Oregon. They returned to Chowchilla in 1981 and resumed farming. During his high school years, Dennis became an Explorer with the Madera County Sheriff’s Department sparking a career in law enforcement. He graduated from Chowchilla Union High School in 1992.

Education & Professional Life

While attending Fresno State where he obtained his Bachelors of Science degree, Dennis became a reserve deputy sheriff for Madera County and a volunteer fire fighter with Madera County Engine 2 based out of the City of Chowchilla. In 1997, Dennis worked for the Madera County Probation Department as a Juvenile Detention Officer. Later that same year he was hired as a full-time Deputy Sheriff with Madera County. During his time with the Sheriff’s Department, he worked as a patrol deputy in every community in Madera County. In 1999, Dennis became one of the first detectives with the Agricultural Crimes Unit. He served on this multi-county task-force for nearly six years. In 2005, Dennis became a founding officer with the University of California Merced Police Department. This gave him the unique opportunity to help create a state agency from the ground up.

Personal Life

Dennis and his wife Debra purchased a house in Chowchilla in 1997 and have lived here ever since. They now have two children, Dillon and Zoe. Dennis is a certified NRA firearms instructor and enjoys teaching shooting sports. He is a staff advisor for the Sports Shooting Club at U.C. Merced where he instructs and mentors students.

Chowchilla Government Involvement

Dennis was first elected to the Chowchilla City Council in November 2008. In November 2012 he was elected to a second term on the Council and was selected to serve as Mayor for 2013. This past November 2016, Dennis was elected to serve his third term that will expire in December 2020.